Awards Season

As with every end-of-the-year, KBS, SBS, and MBC, the three major TV stations in Korea, held their annual Drama Awards shows.

At the KBS Show

Ha Ji Won won the Highest Award for her role in Hwang Jin Yi. Congratulations to her. It is well-deserved. HJW also won the Netizen Award.

Shim Eun Kyung, the actress who played the child Hwang Jin Yi, won the Young Actress Award.

Yoon Eun Hye won the New Actress Award for her role in The Vineyard Man.

Hyun Bin won the Popularity Award, Netizen Award, and Best Couple Award with Sung Yoo Ri for their partnership in Snow Queen.

There are more categories and winners but I haven’t been following dramas by KBS so I either don’t know those shows/names or simply don’t care. If you’re interested, you can check out the complete list here.

Over at the SBS show…

The show was co-hosted by none other than our dear Mukgu, Lee Da Hae! Some viewers have commented that she was quiet and stiff because she didn’t interact well with the other two MCs. Eh, it was her first big hosting gig so give her a break. Also, I read that the other two hosts weren’t really giving Mukgu a chance to participate in their small talks.

Major upsets of the night was the fact the My Girl didn’t win any major awards, except for LDH taking home the Top Ten Star Award and Park Shi Yeon the New Star Award. It might be because My Girl was honored at the 2005 show, where LDH received an acting award for her role as Joo Yoo Rin. Secondly, where were Lee Dong Wook and Lee Jun Ki?!

With all that aside, I would like to congratulate to the cast of Alone in Love for being recognized at the show (with the exception of Gam Woo Sung ).

Top Excellence Award: Song Yeh Jin

Top 10 Stars Award: Son Yeh Jin, Lee Da Hae

Supporting Award: Gong Hyung Jin, Oh Yoon Ah

New Star Award: Lee Jin Wook, Lee Ha Na, Park Shi Yun

Gong Hyung Jin and Lee Ha Na

At the MBC show

Ju Mong and Fantasy Couple were the big winners of the night. Yay!

Those that took home awards for their work in the two dramas includes:

Song Il Kook won the Daesang (Grand Award) and the Top Excellence Actor Award.

Jun Kwang Ryul, who plays King Geum Wa in Ju Mong also won the Top Excellence Actor Award and Han Hye Jin won the Actress Award.

Excellence Award: Kim Seung Soo (Ju Mong), Han Yeh Seul (Fantasy Couple)

Popularity Award: Oh Ji Ho, Han Yeh Seul

Best Couple Award: Oh Ji Ho, Han Yeh Seul

New Actor/Actress Award: Won Gi Joon (Ju Mong)

Also congratulations to Nam Sang Mi for winning the New Actress Award, which I think was for her work in The Sweet Spy. NSM should have received this for Bad Family as well because 1) she certainly deserved it and 2) if Yoon Eun Hye got one from KBS for The Vineyard Man and one from MBC for Goong, then why shouldn’t NSM when she’s the better actress. Aish, SBS!

The gorgeous Nam Sang Mi

Lists of winners courtesy of CindyW88 @
Images courtesy of mydaily

The Korea Times also wrote an article on these ceremonies. To read it, click here.

Side note: I’m currently downloading the MBC show and shall watch it once it’s ready. Let’s see how much Korean I’ve picked up from watching all those dramas.


One thought on “Awards Season

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s