What Have I Been Doing Lately?

Well, as you can obviously tell, not blogging. I’ve come to the realization that maintaining a blog is harder than I thought, especially when there isn’t really any interesting topic to write about. So really, props to all those bloggers out there who are able to provide us with insightful and well-written entries on a regular basis. (I’m particularly complimenting dramabeans.com. I love javabeans’ blog. Why? If you visit the site, then well, you’ll know why.)

Anyway, back to the main topic. What have I been doing? Trying to keep a healthy balance between schoolwork and play (i.e., watching k-dramas). Here’s a summary of what I’ve seen and am currently following.

Entering my list of all-time favorite k-dramas (to my surprise) is a little show called Coffee Prince.

In the beginning, when news of the drama and the cast were announced, I wasn’t really interested mainly because of the cast. I liked Gong Yoo in the movie She’s On Duty with Kim Sun Ah but the ridiculousness of One Fine Day kinda erase any positive associations I had with him. Regarding Yoon Eun Hye, she was good for a newcomer in Goong; the show was entertaining, sometimes draggy, but overall, I liked it. My point here is that I was indifferent to the main cast so it was one of those “check it out only if it gets praises” kind of shows for me. And now, looking back, I’m grateful that javabeans chose to write summaries for Coffee Prince because it was through her summaries that made me go, “Huh, this sounds interesting. Perhaps, this is something that I might enjoy.” And seventeen “cups” later, I did more than enjoy it; I loved it, from the music and cinematography to the solid acting and chemistry among all cast members. Now that it’s over, I’m gonna really miss looking forward to and checking on dramabeans.com for updates every Monday and Tuesday nights, downloading the episodes whenever I had time, and anticipating the English subtitles. Ah, good times.

Currently, I’m watching Bad Couple and so far, I like it a lot. My question, as I watch this drama, is: Where can I find a man like Gi Chan? Where?! More on this later when I finish the show.

I also checked out Get Karl, Oh Soo Jung. I watched episode one because I was bored and had nothing better to do. In my opinion, the episode was “bleh.” It had its entertaining moments but those weren’t enough to reel me in.

So you might be wondering (or not) why I haven’t talked much about Time Between Dog and Wolf? I saw the first episode a few weeks ago and up until now, that is the only one that I’ve watched because to my surprise, I didn’t really enjoy it and found it to be boring. Maybe having seen just one episode isn’t enough for me to say that I don’t like the series and should stop following it. People have said that it gets better with each episode so I should really watch a couple more episodes and decide then. I mean, it has one of my favorite girls Nam Sang Mi and the cute Lee Jun Ki in it, but why am I still not that interested?

I also watched an episode or two of Thank You every now and then. It’s good but I’m not entirely hooked on it. I’ll get around to finishing it when there’s nothing else to watch.

There are two shows that I really want to watch, and they are Que Sera Sera and Flowers For My Life. Hopefully, I can get the episodes to download without any technical difficulties.

Oh man, this blog entry took a long time for me to write. I’m getting rusty with my writing and spelling skills. They weren’t great to start with but dang, a hour plus to get my thoughts together and come up with this entry is a little too long, which reminds me about why I started blogging last year. One reason was, of course, My Girl but the other reason was because I was writing something and I had forgotten how to spell “backpack.” Along the same line, the other day, I was chatting with a friend of mine online and I misspelled “feeble.” Those are simple words, right? So, I need to write and read more before I forget important concepts like grammar and syntax, you know, the wonderful stuff college English classes are made of.

Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “What Have I Been Doing Lately?

  1. Doozy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG, I’m so excited!!!!!!!!!! Check this out: Lee Jun Ki to receive “Rising Star” award at Louis Vuitton Hawaii International Film Festival. OMG!!!!!!! I have no money to get tickets when they go on sale…but hopefully I can coax someone into sponsoring me! :p Gosh, I’m so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Anyway, back to commenting on this blog…You’re watching a lot right now! I too finished Coffee Prince, and I too LOVE LOVE LOVED it! It’s right up there with My Girl. It doesn’t top MG, but I liked it just as much. It was hilarious, sweet, sad, frustrating, and just wonderful! It’s like you took these words outta my mouth: “Huh, this sounds interesting. Perhaps, this is something that I might enjoy.” And seventeen “cups” later, I did more than enjoy it; I loved it, from the music and cinematography to the solid acting and chemistry among all cast members.. Dang, and Gong Yoo totally solidified his position in my top 3 :-p. I agree, the storyline of One Fine Day was too jacked up, but his acting was good. His acting was great in Coffee Prince too.

    I guess I should try to start watching Bad Couple. If you like it/dislike it, I’ll probably feel the same! Gotta watch Fantasy Couple too.

    Anyway, glad you’re maintaining a good balance b/t school and play. Hope all is well, and keep bloggin’! ~j

  2. Hi Jill!

    How have you been?

    I am/was watching alot, now that you’ve mentioned it. heehee. That usually only means one thing though, lots of late nights and lack of sleep from staying up late to finish my homework.

    I’m glad you liked Coffee Prince. Gong Yoo, Yoon Eun Hye… well, actually, the entire cast was wonderful.

    Thanks for the info! Oh man, if you have a chance to go see Jun Ki, that is beyond awesome. I hope you’ll find that generous someone who would sponsor you. heehee. If you do go, please share with us your experience. wow, really exciting stuff.

    Thanks for checking in.

  3. hey doozy!!!
    it’s been a while since i’ve commented so i thought i’d pop by!
    Coffee Prince has also entered my list of k-drama favourites. i totally agree with you about the acting, the cinematography and the soundtrack – everything just worked together so well. i’m so in love with the soundtrack at the moment – the whole cafe-vibe, crusin’ tunes, dreamy tunes – i just love it. i thought YEH was alright in Princess Hours but i didn’t fall in love with that show as i did with CP – she did such a beautiful job, handled the character of eun chan really well. and GY – i watched OFD and thought omg, this show is soooo bad, poor GY’s effort all wasted cos i thought he was good – and then i watch him in CP and wow, he’s so good! like down to the details of his facial expression esp when bickering with eun chan, and their little lovey scenes – which i thought were really sweet but not overly mush. it was so well done. i’m so going to miss CP!

    anyway hope you’re doing well coping with study and fun…take care yeah!

  4. I’m watching Bad Couple and so far, I like it a lot. My question, as I watch this drama, is: Where can I find a man like Gi Chan? Where?!

    Lol. I just saw this a few months back and the same question popped into my head. Where can we find such a man, really? And for the record, Gi Chan just entered my too-good-to-be-true list of best male characters in a kdrama.

    • I know, right?! From what I can remember, Gi Chan was unbelievably understanding and always put Dang Ja’s best interest first and foremost.

      Sadly, like you said, this type of male species doesn’t exist in real life.

Leave a Reply

