Why Bother Walking When You Can Gallop


Miranda (Season 1, episode 3)

You guys, I’ve been missing out on some awesome television gold. That is, until I stumbled upon darkeyedwolf’s LJ yesterday and he/she was recommending Miranda, the BBC sitcom which began airing in 2009. (Thanks a bunch for plugging Miranda!) On a whim, I decided to check it out because 1) the episodes are all on YouTube, 2) situation comedy is one of my favorite genres, and 3) I like British humor. Now, I guess I should tell you that this was around 10 pm, which is not a good time to try out something that is potentially cracktastic, especially when one has school early in the morning the next day. To be honest, I did not expect to like Miranda this much, but a few minutes into the show and I was already LMAO! THIS TV SERIES, IT IS FRICKING HILARIOUS! And then, when the time was around 12:30 am, instead of going to bed like I should, I wanted moar and ended up not sleeping until close to 2 am.

I went to class today and guess what I did right after I got home from school? Yes, that’s right. I watched more of this delightful show.

If you haven’t seen Miranda, please check it out! Here’s a short clip to whet your appetite.


(Special thanks to BBC for uploading the clip.)

I love you, Miranda!

9 thoughts on “Why Bother Walking When You Can Gallop

  1. Lol, haven’t seen Miranda but I can totally relate. I’ve been hooked by a BBC series one too many times and like you, I’ve also experienced losing sleep over them. I did a marathon on Being Human last December and that’s pretty much all I did during my Christmas vacation. I remember being so addicted to Merlin as well that I couldn’t wait to get home and watch the next episode. And of course, I’m highly anticipating the return of Sherlock this year. The Brits do come up with funny stuff.

    • I heard a lot of good things about BBC shows throughout the years, but Miranda is the first BBC series that I’ve seen and I’m so glad that I picked this one to start because I love it.

      Sherlock is next on my list of BBC series to watch. Wait a minute… Since when did I have a to-watch list of BBC series? I guess… since now? Not enough hours in the day to satisfy this drama addiction, I tell you.

      • Saw 2 episodes of Miranda last night. It is a bit slapsticky but funny, too. You’re right in saying that it doesn’t require the same commitment as watching an Asian series. I mean, compared to kdramas, with Miranda, you just go with the flow and have a good time at it. πŸ™‚

        Lol on the idea of starting a BBC to-watch list. Try to check out Merlin as well if you have time to spare. It can be shallow and repetitive, not to mention it totally screws up Arthurian legend, but Colin Morgan and Bradley James as the young Merlin and Arthur have great chemistry. You only have to check fanmade vids on youtube to see how much people ship these two. ^^”

        Best part of it all—no subtitles! It’s kinda nice to just sit back and relax, and not worry about missing out on facial expressions. So hurray to alternative viewing lists!

  2. Hahaha, cute giffy, doozy! πŸ˜€ (Totally reminds me of a horseless King Arthur “galloping” across England in Monty Python and the Holy Grail — that movie cracks me up each time!)

    My forays into BBC series have been limited to the Austen adaptations (just spent last night watching the Sense & Sensibility miniseries *swoon swoon*), but thanks to zooey for reccing Sherlock, and now thanks to you for reccing Miranda, I think I may be expanding my BBC docket very soon. ^^;;

    And wow, based on your latest posts, you’re really really loving Miranda! I’m more intrigued than ever! =P

    @ zooey – Have not yet seen Sherlock S1, but my best friend has burned me a copy and I’m looking forward to it! Though for some reason I find it a little weird that Watson and Sherlock are being played by the future Bilbo Baggins (!!!) and that rapist-creep from Atonement, respectively. Hahaha πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, E.G.! Making gifs is a recently acquired skill and although the process can get tedious, the end product makes it all worth it.

      And wow, based on your latest posts, you’re really really loving Miranda! I’m more intrigued than ever! =P
      Is it that obvious? Hehe.

      Intrigued, eh? Hopefully, it will lead you to watch at least the first episode of Miranda. πŸ˜‰
      Two seasons have aired already and I’m very stoked that BBC renewed it for season 3. When you compare it to K-dramas, the time commitment isn’t much at all. The last time I remember laughing so much and so frequently that I literally almost fell off my chair while watching a TV show was… never until Miranda. Each episode is about 30 minutes long and I’d bet I spent a good 25 minutes laughing. Although, the show is not without flaws and the humor can get silly and slapsticky, it’s also very clever and with heart. Such fun!

    • Hope you get to watch Sherlock soon, E.G. The first season only has three episodes and the first one’s just brilliant on its own. Really good, I tell you. πŸ™‚

      I find it a little weird that Watson and Sherlock are being played by the future Bilbo Baggins (!!!) and that rapist-creep from Atonement, respectively.

      Hahaha, I know. But I promise you that you won’t be thinking that once you start the show. Benedict Cumberbatch doesn’t look anything like his character in Atonement (he’s just that good) and Martin Freeman is adorable. Ach, I just loved the first season.

  3. @ doozy

    Ahahahaha I lovedlovedloved the first episode of Miranda!!! To be honest I don’t normally go for studio-shot sitcoms because even with the best ones (Friends, etc.) I could never really shake that feeling of how artificial the whole setup was — with the stage sets and laugh tracks — which is why I gravitated more towards mockumentaries (The Office) or shows like Scrubs/Ed/30 Rock/Malcolm in the Middle where nothing is shot on a stage and everyone is earnest and serious while working their way through the most outrageous situations.

    Miranda must be the first sitcom I’ve seen where the cued laughter from the studio audience didn’t annoy me. I strangely didn’t mind the studio sets, either! (the exterior shots of the neighborhood balanced this out quite nicely) I love how this show has that hybrid feel of a stand-up performance and a conventional sitcom, because Miranda Hart makes it look so smooth and effortless when she transitions into those look-into-the-camera time-outs. Her sense of timing (and the rest of the cast’s as well) in delivering the punchlines is just brilliant, never a beat off. And I love how smart Miranda is despite being one big dorky klutz. (As fond as I was of Bridget Jones I felt so exasperated by how clueless she was.)

    Looking forward to more of Miranda! Thanks for reccing this hilarious show, doozy! πŸ˜€

    @ zooey

    Hahaha but just a few weeks ago my friend (the BBC fan) and I met up for dinner and we started discussing Sherlock, but we somehow couldn’t remember Benedict Cumberbatch’s surname (these bluddy senior moments, I seem to be getting more of ’em these days, drat). We were like, “cummerbund?” ‘”cumbersome?” “curmudgeon?” (lol) but still came up empty, so we just googled it when we got home, hahaha πŸ˜›

    So I gave Sherlock Season 1 a spin. Gaaads, but it’s nothing like I ever expected — it’s so, so, so much better!!! Why was this only 3 episodes, WHY??? (And when did Benedict Cumberbatch get to be so darn cute? x_O) Hopping over to your blog to leave a comment in your Sherlock post… xD

    • Ahhh, gosh darn wordpress for putting your comments in the spam box so I didn’t see it until now. What the heck, WP?!

      Ahahahaha I lovedlovedloved the first episode of Miranda!
      Yippee! I’m so glad that you like Miranda! Seriously, I laughed non-stop when I watched the show. You are right about cast’s comedic chops, spot on and effortlessly funny.
      And Miranda… yeah, she’s pretty brilliant.

Leave a Reply

