What Have You Done Today To Make You Feel Proud?

Not much, particularly with regards to this blog, seeing how the last update was almost a month ago. But I did manage to find the time to check out Sherlock, which comes highly recommended by zooey. (Thank you!)

I just finished watching Season 1 all in one go and let me get this out of the way. SHERLOCK IS FREAKING BRILLIANT! Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are perfectly cast as the titular Sherlock and the trusty colleague/friend, respectively. After each episode, I was left speechless, head spinning, and jaw on the floor. The show is all around awesome, from the acting, writing, and directing to cinematography and music. It’s fast paced, well-acted and written (I always appreciate it when a show does not insult its viewers’ intelligent), with a dash of dark humor thrown in. And the ending of episode 3? This is how cliffhangers should be done, people. I am so looking forward to Season 2!

I’ve also been rewatching Miranda, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I started speaking in a faux British accent. Like the times when I binged on K-dramas, I’d answer questions with “ye” and “anio” instead of “yes” and “no” and people would give me quizzical looks. Now, if I do pick up the British thing, let’s hope that it’ll do me some good and make me more articulate and sharp.

2 thoughts on “What Have You Done Today To Make You Feel Proud?

  1. Hey doozy, sorry for the late reply. Been out of circulation since I’m kinda swamped with work and household chores. Anyway, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Sherlock as much as I did. It really is a great show. Can’t wait for season 2 as well.

    Regarding your query about the Beebs–from what I know a regular season runs for 13 episodes. A new show usually runs for half a season so you usually get about 6-7 episodes but overall, I think it really depends on how many episodes that the BBC can accommodate in terms of the available timeslot so it’s also possible to get less or more than the usual 6-7 episodes. In the case of Sherlock, the network only commissioned 3 episodes as a test run. First, because one of the series creators is busy with another show called Doctor Who and is said to be loathe to juggle the two shows at the same time and second, because personally, I think the quality of the series lends itself well to a tv-movie format. The cost of production is probably also one reason why the show’s limited to 3 episodes. The BBC did the same thing with the series Zen which starred Rufus Sewell and was shot on location in Italy. Unfortunately for Zen, it got axed rather quickly, which goes to say that I don’t have the faintest idea how tv execs decide these things. LOL x_x

    • Hiya, zooey! As much as we sometimes dislike it, Real Life should take priority over Virtual Life. So no worries.

      Thanks for the explanation on how BBC works. Although I would love for Sherlock and Miranda to have more episodes, I’d much prefer quality over quantity. For these awesome shows, the limited number of episodes is also a great strategy to leave the audience wanting more, methinks.

Leave a Reply

