Prepare for May Madness

Notice how the last couple of blog posts are not related to K-dramas? Yeah, I’ve been on a low K-drama diet because not a lot of items on the menu looked appetizing. I’m only watching two shows at the moment, 49 Days and Manny. 49 Days started off slow but gradually built up steam over the past few weeks and is now getting really good and juicy. In contrast, Manny had a delightful beginning but is now becoming predictable and repetitive. I’m sensing yawn-inducing territory up ahead.

However, the limited menu (hopefully) is about to change in the month of May for the following reasons:

[In order of premiere date]

Best Love
Who are the main players: Gong Hyo Jin, Cha Seung Won, Yoo In Na, and Yoon Kye Sang
What is it about: Has-been idol star meets and becomes entangled with the current Mr. Hot Property of the entertainment biz. Hilarity, pop culture parodies, and romantic hijinks ensue.
When is the date: May 4
What is the fuss: The scriptwriters behind Best Love is the Hong Sisters. Need I say more? (Although, to be honest, I’ve been enjoying their works less and less over the years. My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, which is their most recent drama, is my least favorite of the bunch. I’m really hoping that Best Love will be cracktastically awesome and not recycled dullness. *crosses fingers*)

Lie to Me
Who are the main players: Yoon Eun Hye and Kang Ji Hwan
What is it about: Just your regular civil servant who happens to be married to a chaebol. (Not!) The so-called marriage is a lie that originated from said civil servant. Details of the context that led to the lie remains unclear for now but a couple things are for certain: hilarity, “coincidental” encounters between the two leads, and romantic shenanigans.
When is the date: May 9
What is the fuss: It’s Yoon!Eun!Hye! She’s one of my favorite actresses whose last drama, the I’d-rather-watch-paint-dry-than-watch-this My Fair Lady, was almost 2 years ago. I miss seeing her on the small screen, so am very excited for this show.

Ripley
Who are the main players: Lee Da Hae, Micky Yoochun, Kang Hye Jung, and Kim Seung Woo
What is it about: A woman who falsifies her credentials to get ahead on the career ladder and the men who are caught in her web of lies, either inadvertently or voluntarily.
When is the date: May 30
What is the fuss: Although my affection for Lee Da Hae has diminished over the years, I still like her. But the real, honest reason for my unabashed excitement for this drama? I’ll give you a hint: just take a look at my avatar. When I heard about Ripley and who are in the main cast, my reaction was something like this: “Wait, whut? Micky Yoochun? In a new drama?! Oh, yespleaseIwouldlikethatverymuchthankyou.”

Obviously, my anticipation and excitement for these three dramas are through the roof! I cannot wait!

Other dramas that will air in May include City Hunter and Romance Town, both of which I’m inclined to check out because I have a soft spot for the cast members. On the one hand, the recent drought in the K-drama landscape makes me want these new shows to be awesome. However, on the other hand, if that’s the case, then how am I going to manage drama-watching and Real Life responsibilities and commitments as well as sleep? If anyone figures out the answer to this conundrum, please share it with me. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Prepare for May Madness

  1. Did someone just say Yoon Eun Hye AND Kang Ji Hwan??? In the same series????? Lock me in baybay!!!

    And definitely will be making time for Best Love- Gong Hyo Jin’s stuff never ceases to keep me glued to the screen^^

    Kinda dropped outta the Korean loop again of late but thank you doozy for the updates! Speaking of K-drama, have heard fun things about Dream High. I think the cameos are enough to get me going :)))) Yet to get around to it though- have you had the chance yet?

    • You’re welcome. 🙂

      ahahhaaha… Ya know, Kang Ji Hwan doesn’t do much for me, probably similar to how you’re immune to Lee Min Ho. But I love Yoon Eun Hye so I’m tuning in for her.

      I saw the first episode of Best Love, and so far so good. Cha Seung Won’s drawl is creeping me out but Gong Hyo Jin is, as usual, excellent. Her acting style reminds me of my fav actress Son Ye Jin in that both are able to imbue their characters with earnestness and sincerity.

      Re: Dream High
      When it was airing alongside My Princess, I opted to watch the latter for bad but known actors instead unfamiliar young idol stars. However, once the positive reviews started to pour in for Dream High, my interest piqued and I was going to check it out but then was caught up in Sunny Happiness and Tatta Hitotsu No Koi. Plus, there’s a whole bunch of other dramas on my to-watch list so if anything, I gotta go through those first. “Stop staring at me, Runaway: Plan B! One of these days, I will watch you.”

      Anyway, if you do watch Dream High, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

