Say What Now?

Perhaps my K-drama observation skill is slipping because I did not expect the plot development that presented itself in episode 16 of City Hunter. But before I get to that, here are my thoughts on some other stuff.

1. Yoon Sung’s mano-a-mano with Creepster
Me: The water bottle is the new spoon!

2. Yoon Sung requesting Nana to ignore him and forget him. And she complies.
Me: On the one hand, I like that Nana isn’t the clingy type. On the other hand, Nana and Yoon Sung… Break my heart, why don’t you? *tears*

3. Young Joo gate-crashing the dinner party of evil people.
Me: Man, sometimes I worry about this guy because his foolhardiness is gonna get him killed. (Oh wait, it already did.) But then, when he’s all up in the city hunter’s face, my concern switches to annoyance because I’m protective of Yoon Sung and am like, “Can’t you just leave him alone?”

4. Young Joo sneaking up on Yoon Sung while he’s safe-cracking at Jin Pyo’s.
Me: Does no one lock the house door around here anymore? *throws hands up in air*

As for the twist…

5. The President is Yoon Sung’s biological father? What the?!
Me: Hmm… the man who Yoon Sung thinks is his biological father was actually his Stepdad 1 and Stepdad 2 raised Yoon Sung for the purpose of revenge against his real biological father. This new revelation further explains the reason why Jin Pyo kidnapped Yoon Sung when he was an infant and hid the identity of Target No. 5. So Jin Pyo’s vendetta against the President is not only for the massacre 28 years ago but also for messing around with his best friend’s wife? It’s all a little convoluted, if you ask me.

Also, I’m reminded of this famous pop culture reference.

Darth Vader: Obi-Wan never told you what happened to your father.
Luke Skywalker: He told me enough! He told me you killed him!
Darth Vader: No. I am your father.
Luke Skywalker: No… that’s not true! That’s impossible!
Darth Vader: Search your feelings. You know it to be true.
Luke Skywalker: NOOOOOOOOO! NOOOOOOOO!
— Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
(Source: Television Tropes & Idioms)

With only 4 more episodes left in the series, I hope that there will be enough time for the drama to wrap up nicely. No rushed ending or illogical resolutions, please City Hunter!

4 thoughts on “Say What Now?

    • Thanks, blue! The Star Wars quote came to mind almost instantly when hints were dropped left and right about the connection between Yoon Sung and the President in episode 16.

Leave a Reply

